Reciprocity

Before I get into the daily embrace, I apologize if some of the posts are similar.  I’m going to talk about reciprocity today.  This means an exchange, cooperation, or mutual effort.

Just as I’ve mentioned before, we’re torn between doing things for ourselves and doing things for others.  In effect, when we do things for other people, we expect something in return.  “I did this for you, so I should expect something in return.”  Have you ever felt like you haven’t been recognized for doing something nice?

Whether it’s for a loved one or not, have you ever felt you’re the only caring one in the relationship?  Well, I’ve experienced both sides.  First, with my egotistic behavior and background, I let my interests and needs come before family and friends.  There wasn’t any reciprocity.  There wasn’t mutual effort taking place on my side.  I wasn’t putting in the time and effort necessary for healthy relationships.  For it to work, both parties must be willing to put the time and effort in.

But now, the shoe is on the opposite foot.  I now understand and empathize with the people that were trying so hard with me before.  Receiving nothing in return isn’t a bad thing.  Rewards are nice, but aren’t necessary.  Experiencing no reciprocity has really made me grow as an individual and as a Christian.  Even if you may be the only one putting in effort and trying to make things right, we must not give up or give in simply because we aren’t getting anything in return.

Find courage.  Find strength.

Be the one that’s willing to accept whatever fate there may be, even if it’s putting yourself in a position of opening yourself up to which you’ve never before.  Rise above ones that may say it’s impossible.  Rise above yourself for a change and realize it’s much bigger than you.  Rise above everything else, just as Jesus did when He died on the cross for us.  Remember His pain, remember His suffering.

About jthealthyfit

https://faithandfitnessembrace.wordpress.com/ I am passionate about health/wellness, nutrition, sports and most importantly, my relationship with God. I have a Bachelor of Science in Health and Sport Studies from Miami University and a Master of Science in Sports Administration from Valparaiso University. I am a corporate wellness coordinator and personal trainer in Columbus, OH. Please email me for personal training rates at ffembrace@gmail.com. I'm excited to be working with you, God Bless! View all posts by jthealthyfit

Leave a Reply

