Selective Compensation

When it comes to exercise and nutrition, there’s little room for compensation.  When we find ourselves in a “devil on one side and an angel on another” situation, whether that’s from our sugar cravings or busy schedule, giving way to excuses, we begin to make amends with ourselves and justify our reasons not to stay disciplined.

Our temporary allowance leads to a payment of disappointment and regret, even though our remittance was reasonably self-prescribed.  Essentially, our reasons and excuses were good enough at the time to deter our actions to acquire our goals.  Whether that be losing weight or toning our muscles, we prescribe our own compromises.  It’s understandable.  Are we willing to sacrifice our well-being for temporary highs or cravings?  Can we stick to a plan?  Can we stay dedicated, even if that means eliminating unhealthy behaviors in our lives?

Recently, while I was visiting friends, I told them upright I’m not going to be drinking.  Did I feel weird?  Did I feel left out sometimes?  Yes, of course I did. But I still had a great time.  While I was the “party animal” in college, I no longer live this lifestyle.  At this point in my life, I know there’s much more than having fun and drinking until blacking out.  There are two things I’ve learned from this lifestyle transition.

First, you must be willing to not give in to peer pressure.  Second, you must be willing to face criticism for your healthy choices.  In the act of saying no, you’re compensating or “rewarding” your hard work in the gym and the kitchen.  As the title of the post says, “selective compensation,” there are times when it’s not appropriate to adjust your behavior and other times can be the best choices you may make.  Repay yourself for the hard work and new lifestyle, but never overbalance and regress from your ultimate goals.

About jthealthyfit

https://faithandfitnessembrace.wordpress.com/ I am passionate about health/wellness, nutrition, sports and most importantly, my relationship with God. I have a Bachelor of Science in Health and Sport Studies from Miami University and a Master of Science in Sports Administration from Valparaiso University. I am a corporate wellness coordinator and personal trainer in Columbus, OH. Please email me for personal training rates at ffembrace@gmail.com. I'm excited to be working with you, God Bless! View all posts by jthealthyfit

Leave a Reply

