Outlines=Good, Goals=Good, Specific Goals=GOOD!

So, after quite a few posts about my Faith and living a life for God and Him alone, I shall begin to emerge our Faith and fitness; as to the name of this blog implies.  Today, I’m going to write about the power of a plan.  Earlier, I was in the process of writing an outline for a research paper.  I’m getting ahead of things and doing all the necessary initial steps, before delving into writing the entire piece.  Most of you already know, doing a substantial amount of research even before writing an outline is critical to forming the thesis and purpose of a paper.  By following the proper steps early on, it’ll give you a roadmap and keep you consistent.  Rather than straying off on tangents, the roadmap will help you stay consistent and true.  It’s the same for your fitness and nutrition goals.  The more specific you can be, the better.  “I want to lose 20 lbs. by June.”  That’s not enough.  Be more specific.  “I want to lose 20 lbs. by June because…”  It’s critical to have a ‘because’ in your goal.  The statement after the ‘because’ will be your ‘powerful why.’  A ‘powerful why’ will be the reason for waking up at 5am.  It’ll be the reason to motivate you in the hardest of times.  “I want to lose 20 lbs. by June because I want to fit into my tux or dress for a wedding.  I want people to be in awe and thrilled at how I look.”  So take your initial goals, and make them grow.  Make them more and more specific.  The more specific they become, the more accountability you put on yourself.  “Oh, I’ll wake up early tomorrow to work out.”  When 6am comes along, “I’m so tired right now, I can sleep another hour and a half; I’ll just work out after I get off of work.”  Your specific goals will help you get past these excuses.  Goals can be and are motivating and encouraging  only if they’re specific.  If you give your goals a makeover, your body will also get a make over.

About jthealthyfit

https://faithandfitnessembrace.wordpress.com/ I am passionate about health/wellness, nutrition, sports and most importantly, my relationship with God. I have a Bachelor of Science in Health and Sport Studies from Miami University and a Master of Science in Sports Administration from Valparaiso University. I am a corporate wellness coordinator and personal trainer in Columbus, OH. Please email me for personal training rates at ffembrace@gmail.com. I'm excited to be working with you, God Bless! View all posts by jthealthyfit

Leave a Reply

