Motivating Music

Do you ever get into a music “funk” when nothing really sounds good?  Either you’re listening to the same radio station that you know all the songs or your ipod is just getting outdated.

Today, I encountered such an issue on the way back to school.  My radio station preferences are usually Klove (http://www.klove.com/), WBCL (www.wbcl.org/), The Blast (www.theblast.fm/), RadioU (tvulive.com/radiou/) or any other Christian radio station.  At one point, I was switching back and forth from one station to the next or just losing reception; I couldn’t stay on just one station.

Once I exhausted the radio stations, I brought out some old cd’s.  Yes, those round things we use to call compact discs.  I have tons of them in my car.  I was quickly reminded of how my life was tainted with such aweful music in my past.  Rap songs are by far so degrading with simply awful, random lyrics.       (Lil Jon is the worst)

That brings me to the title of the post.  I use to listen to hardcore rock music when I worked out.  You know, the scremo type you can barely understand what they’re saying.  But now, I am finding motivation in better, more meaningful Christian rock music like: Jeremy Camp, Skillet, Thousand Foot Krutch, Blindside, Kutless, Red, Ashes Remain, 12 Stones, Fireflight, Manafest, TobyMac, and so on.

Music is such a powerful tool, whether it’s for preaching His word or to sing about dogs and drinking (e.g. country), music tells stories.  God given talent helps these musicians paint unbelievable pictures that are so relieving or motivating to us, the listeners.  You can either use this music to help encourage or to follow the degradation most music of this day and age portrays.

What music MOTIVATES you?

 

About jthealthyfit

https://faithandfitnessembrace.wordpress.com/ I am passionate about health/wellness, nutrition, sports and most importantly, my relationship with God. I have a Bachelor of Science in Health and Sport Studies from Miami University and a Master of Science in Sports Administration from Valparaiso University. I am a corporate wellness coordinator and personal trainer in Columbus, OH. Please email me for personal training rates at ffembrace@gmail.com. I'm excited to be working with you, God Bless! View all posts by jthealthyfit

12 responses to “Motivating Music

  • Spencer (Muscle Up Gluten and Dairy Free)

    I use music to motivate me to workout. It just gets my adrenaline pumping, and gets me in that zone.

    Here’s some songs on my playlist:

    Disturbed: (heavy metal, but with great lyrics to get some adrenaline pumping)
    Warrior
    Indestructible (the best workout song, listen to it if you get a chance)
    Down with the Sickness (gotta have this song when you lift heavy)
    Perfect Insanity
    Meaning of Life
    The Night
    Violence Fetish
    Dropping Plates

    Eminem: (angry rapper with motivational lyrics)
    Till I Collapse by Eminem (great lyrics to get pumped up)
    Loose Yourself by Eminem (great lyrics to get pumped up)
    Rabbit Run by Eminem

  • Magnu'Colt

    Music that motivates me is hard house music, trash metal, drum n bass if I want to put all my energy into hard work. Those genres do also help me to keep my head focused on interesting subject in for example university studies. Ofcourse I listen to sad songs like Coldplay – Fix you, to make me feel more empathy towards people and my own life. I don’t lack empathy, but sometimes sad music makes me think more seriously about how much I love people and that I should always keep on caring about other people and never turn into a cold person.

    • jthealthyfit

      Oh yeah! There’s definitely perfect times for different types of genres. How many association songs do you have? For example, a song that reminds you of something or someone. Music is very applicable to so many things in our lives.

  • RC

    Like your blog keep it going

  • revbarnz

    Thanks for sharing that, I used to listen to all kinds of rock from ACDC to Deep Purple to Black Sabbath in the 80s. My life went down the drain and my studies were in the pits, I was so rebellious and emo until I met Jesus in 1986 and my life turned around. God is an amazing God – truly life-changing!

Leave a Reply

