Rest/Off Day

Don’t you love off days?  Off days as in taking a break from exercise.  Whatever program you may be following, it’s critical to have an off day each week.  And I know it’s hard because we may feel guilty sitting around, not exercising.  Try to resist as much as you can because of the following:

1) Phyisically speaking, rest is necessary so the muscles can repair, rebuild, and strengthen.  Get away from the idea that muscle is built in the gym.  Yes, being in the gym does help with hypertrophy, but the growing and increasing strength doesn’t happen in the confines of a fitness center.  The critical R and R helps the body to replenish energy stores and repair damaged tissues.  When you exercise or lift weights, there’s a constant breakdown of muscle tissue and glycogen, as well as water loss.

If you don’t have a rest day, please take a break!  This will prevent overtraining, even though you may feel completely fine.  

2) Psychologically speaking, rest days can help maintain a better balance between home, work, and your fitness goals.  I’ve been guilty of my fitness goals taking over everything else.  Rest days will give you the opportunity to reevaluate priorities in your life and spend proper time with God, family, and friends.  It’s so easy to get addicted to exercise, from the endorphins, reducing stress, seeing results, and so on, but you must always have a healthy balance.

2 Timothy 4:7 “I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.”  The focus of this scripture isn’t physical exercise, but instead, Paul uses athletic terms to teach us spiritual truths, to show Paul viewed physical exercise and competition in a positive light.  According to the Bible, our spiritual health is more important than our physical health, we aren’t to neglect either aspect of our health.

Do you have a rest day?

About jthealthyfit

https://faithandfitnessembrace.wordpress.com/ I am passionate about health/wellness, nutrition, sports and most importantly, my relationship with God. I have a Bachelor of Science in Health and Sport Studies from Miami University and a Master of Science in Sports Administration from Valparaiso University. I am a corporate wellness coordinator and personal trainer in Columbus, OH. Please email me for personal training rates at ffembrace@gmail.com. I'm excited to be working with you, God Bless! View all posts by jthealthyfit

5 responses to “Rest/Off Day

  • aliferevived

    Great post! I love the way you put it. It makes sense that if even GOD took a day of rest, then we should as well.

  • Asuma

    Hey! Thanks for liking my post earlier 😉 About taking a rest day…I know it’s important, but sometimes I get too fidgety 😛 That’s when I do yoga, I guess. I usually don’t plan rest days ahead, but just take them when I have to go out or simply tired, to accommodate them into my schedule 🙂

    • jthealthyfit

      Yeah, agreed. Even though you may not have a scheduled rest day, always listen to your body. And yes, yoga is a fantastic activity on rest days. Now, hot yoga on the other hand, probably isn’t the greatest for a rest day!

      • Asuma

        Yeah, though I’ve always wanted to try hot yoga sometime! So far I’ve only tried Hatha, Ashtanga, Vinyasa and Power yoga, and I love shifting between them depending on my mood 🙂

Leave a Reply

