Procrastination

I know this is probably a common topic for a post.  But do you procrastinate?  That’s a simple answer.  It’s like asking, do you breathe, right?!

I know we’ve all done it from time to time.  Procrastination seems to be an inevitable product of life.  But why do we procrastinate, instead of being productive and getting things done?

For one, we think time is unlimited.  We think there’s always time to do it.  We think there’s always tomorrow, or next month, or next year, or the generic term “later.”  Who says we’re guaranteed extra time?  Who says we’re guaranteed to wake up each morning?  We expect it because we’ve played the game of chance for so long.  “Well, I’ve been waking up every morning ever since I’ve been alive,” so what’s to say it’ll happen tomorrow, or next month, or next year?  In retrospect, we’ve been gambling with our lives.  We’ve been betting the house each day, expecting a big payout the next.  What if we lose?  What then?

Procrastination doesn’t let us see beyond now.  “Oh, I’ll just work out tomorrow.”  “I’ll go to the grocery tomorrow and finally buy healthy food.”  “Once I have enough money, I’ll get a gym membership.”  “I cannot afford to live healthy right now.”  So what’s ‘now’ to you?  What’s more valuable now?  Would you rather sacrifice your health now and have adverse consequences later in life simply because you procrastinated now?

Whatever you do, whatever you may feel in your heart, do it!  Because God doesn’t guarantee or promise us tomorrow.  Your belief of “more time” has nothing to do with the reality of perpetual time.  Time is always moving.  Time is always lost.  So don’t take your time for granted.  Get prepared for His return and take care of your bodies NOW!

No more putting off.  No more waiting.

About jthealthyfit

https://faithandfitnessembrace.wordpress.com/ I am passionate about health/wellness, nutrition, sports and most importantly, my relationship with God. I have a Bachelor of Science in Health and Sport Studies from Miami University and a Master of Science in Sports Administration from Valparaiso University. I am a corporate wellness coordinator and personal trainer in Columbus, OH. Please email me for personal training rates at ffembrace@gmail.com. I'm excited to be working with you, God Bless! View all posts by jthealthyfit

6 responses to “Procrastination

  • np

    This is something very common and so overlooked. I feel that most procrastinate due to a couple of things; One being the advancement of technology and how a task can be done in half the time, leaving that cushion and lack of “training” of oneself time management. The other is failure. Yep most are afraid of failure and how others would react. It’s human nature and it takes a conscious decision to not sit back and wait.
    This is a very good post and something I will remember and refer to as I also agree that time is always moving and there is no guarantee for tomorrow.

  • AlyssTG

    I love this post – thank you! You’re right, we might never have the chance to do the things we put off for a while!

  • LexoKat

    I must say that I’m thankful for being a person who likes getting things done in time and if possible, before the due date. Great post!

    • jthealthyfit

      That’s a good trait to have! It’s so easy to put things off because we get consumed by so many things. Importance levels suddenly get established in the opposite direction if priorities aren’t rigidly put in place. Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

