Gung Ho

Just as I suggested yesterday, try to take a step back from things.  Taking a step back from your career, school, hobbies, etc will give you a good grasp if anything is controlling your life.

If you find something that’s consuming your time more than anything else, you’ll have to reevaluate what’s really important in your life.  Just as I mentioned to my friend yesterday, don’t be consumed by something that’s new and exciting.  It’s a slippery slope.  We’re humans.  We try to do things well.  What’s the point of doing something if we don’t buy the most, train the hardest, or prepare the longest?  So why not dive into things head first, all gung ho?

This is where we need to pump the breaks.  As much as we want to dive into things, we can’t.  We cannot expect ourselves to continue whatever it may be for a long period of time.  We will simply get burned out.  Taking a step back will also help to understand these items, hobbies, or habits aren’t permanent.  These aren’t vital to our character.  These aren’t vital to our personality.

The most valuable things in our lives should be things not seen.  Our relationship with the Lord, our personality/character, and our relationship with our family and loved ones.  Granted, we do see evidence of each, but we must not be controlled by things of this world.  So too often, we absentmindedly buy things, simply to fill a void or get satisfaction.  Tell me, how long are you satisfied?

Are those new pair of jeans making you more desirable in God’s eyes?  Remember, I’m not perfect.  I’m experiencing all of this as yourself.  Being a newly devoted follower of Christ, I’ve encountered challenges and problems associated with myself.  Some things that’s been apart of me and my life for so long have actually been distractions from Him.  So do me one favor, take a step back from your daily ritual and ask yourself, are you doing things in the best interest of yourself or the best interest of God?

About jthealthyfit

https://faithandfitnessembrace.wordpress.com/ I am passionate about health/wellness, nutrition, sports and most importantly, my relationship with God. I have a Bachelor of Science in Health and Sport Studies from Miami University and a Master of Science in Sports Administration from Valparaiso University. I am a corporate wellness coordinator and personal trainer in Columbus, OH. Please email me for personal training rates at ffembrace@gmail.com. I'm excited to be working with you, God Bless! View all posts by jthealthyfit

2 responses to “Gung Ho

  • Brianna

    Brilliant. So true. I was just thinking earlier today about how I tend to get caught up in things. Addictive personality? Perhaps. Taking a step back is such a valuable action, as you said, for both the break and for the clarify and reflection. Thanks for reminding me :).

    • jthealthyfit

      Oh yeah. It’s definitely so easy to get caught up in our daily lives, we forget to reevaluate, take a step back, and just slow down. Glad I have reminded you of this. Hope I can help you in the near future and hope to hear more from you! Thank you for commenting!

Leave a Reply

