We Take Things For Granted…

it’s simple as that!

The other day, I had profound life moment.

Backstory: About two weeks ago, I accepted a summer internship in Chicago.  I’ll be working with the physically disabled, mainly with wheelchair sports and fitness.  Well, the problem is, I have no experience whatsoever working with this population.  And I made this fact clear in my interview.

The recent profound moment wasn’t about if I could handle novel tasks, like the aforementioned, but of the personal relationships I’ll be having with these people and my co-workers.  Specifically, another intern who’s actually coming from California for the internship.  Well, I’m in need of residence for a few months in downtown Chicago and the intern from California possibly needed a roommate.  Expecting to meet up with her in Chicago just recently, her flight plans fell through so scouting out places together was out of the question.

Emailing and texting each other on the status of apartments and such, I never thought about doing the typical “Facebook creeping” or “Google search.”  I know a lot of people do this all the time, but I simply don’t.  Something was telling me I needed to do it.

So I did.

I couldn’t believe the response I got.  Videos, stories, sports records, and so on.  I couldn’t believe it.  Do I have the right person?  Did I spell her name correctly?  This must be a mistake.

Someone I’ve been conversing with is famous!  After watching a video of her, she’s already number one in my books for inspiration and living life to the fullest.  She’s essentially the personified motivation and encouragement of what I’ve been striving for on this blog.  

Here’s her story: First, she’s an amazing athlete. She excelled at gymnastics and pull-vaulting in high school.  Setting records in each, she was beyond athletic and all around talented.  Sadly, she experienced a tragic snowboarding accident which left her paralyzed from the waist down.  From spending countless hours in physical and occupational therapy, she couldn’t, and most importantly, didn’t let this tragedy overcome her.  She didn’t use this as an excuse.  She didn’t see this as a weakness.  Instead, she found unyielding strength and courage to be the amazing athlete and person she was born to be.  Whether it’s from water skiing or wheelchair basketball, nothing has stopped her!  

After watching the video, I simply broke down.  I prayed.  I asked God if this is what I should be doing.  Am I armed with the knowledge and wisdom to be effective?  Sacrificing finances, is this the right move?  So many other questions came to mind.  And remember, I haven’t met her yet and I’m already writing a post about her unbelievable determination and vigor.

I’ll have the privilege of working with incredible people like her for the summer.  I feel like her story is only the beginning….

Can you imagine such an incident happening to you?  Would you be able to overcome the sense of “why did this happen to me?”

About jthealthyfit

https://faithandfitnessembrace.wordpress.com/ I am passionate about health/wellness, nutrition, sports and most importantly, my relationship with God. I have a Bachelor of Science in Health and Sport Studies from Miami University and a Master of Science in Sports Administration from Valparaiso University. I am a corporate wellness coordinator and personal trainer in Columbus, OH. Please email me for personal training rates at ffembrace@gmail.com. I'm excited to be working with you, God Bless! View all posts by jthealthyfit

6 responses to “We Take Things For Granted…

  • LexoKat

    Something similar happened to me, but hey, it was nothing major thank God.. just some back problems with a lot, but a lot of pain. That week in which I couldn’t sit, stand or lay down because of pain was the hardest to me because I didn’t know how to do the normal things I used to do, while also caring about my back.

    Working with these kind of people is amazing. My mother does so and I volunteered to help her for a week. You’ll be even more thankful for what you have.

    I think you’ll do a great job. Don’t worry! Work hard and keep us updated!

  • jthealthyfit

    Oh man. Did you find out what actually happened? What did the doctors say? Sounds like a slipped disc. Any back issue isn’t fun at all! Immobilizes you so much.

    Oh really, where/what does your mom volunteer doing?

    Thank you, I really appreciate it. I hope everything will work out and it’ll be an amazing opportunity I’m glad I didn’t turn down. Thank you for the support!

  • rxnickrun

    I can’t imagine and know that only with God’s help could I possibly get through it. Looking forward to hearing about your internship

  • theelectriccane

    Many people underestimate people with disabilities and, in turn, some people do have a bad attitude or feel helpless. Many other people are stubbornly determined not to let anything get in their way….like me! Hahaha.

    Use youtube to look at paraolympics and you will see many talented and determined people.

    • jthealthyfit

      Oh yeah, for sure! I can’t imagine the determination, physical and mental strength one must have. And it’s beyond an admirable quality to possess. I’m very excited for the opportunity to be around so many people like you! Yes, I will definitely check that out! Thanks for commenting and hope to hear more!

Leave a Reply

