Foolishness and Admirability

When can you finally realize your actions are borderline foolish, all the while thinking they’ve been admirable?

That’s a tough question to answer.  When you think your actions are admirable, different perspectives from loved ones may rescale and redefine what you think is admirable.  In other words, it may seem admirable to sacrifice your time and energy, but in their eyes, it may be foolish to the point of wasting time.

And foolish acts are very tough to overcome, especially if you’ve been doing your “admirable” things for so long.  I know I’ve written about using friends and family as backboards with your problems; bounce things off of them for proper/healthy direction.  It’s the same with this instance.

It either takes a dramatic fight with an ex or time after time of trying to win them back, to realize the distinction between foolishness and admirability.  We all tend to think and want our actions to be admirable.  But to another person, this may seem desperate and pointless because the damage has already been made.

Whatever the case may be, you always need to follow your heart.  If it feels right to act foolish, then who’s to say it’s wrong.  And in the end, it’ll simply come down to, “did I put in the effort?”  “Did I do all that I could to make things better?”  If you can say yes to both of these questions, then your actions were truly admirable.

Hold your loved one dear.  Don’t make wrongful decisions that you’ll regret.  Because once you begin regretting, you may try to swim against the current.  And find yourself at the crossroads of foolishness and admirability.

About jthealthyfit

https://faithandfitnessembrace.wordpress.com/ I am passionate about health/wellness, nutrition, sports and most importantly, my relationship with God. I have a Bachelor of Science in Health and Sport Studies from Miami University and a Master of Science in Sports Administration from Valparaiso University. I am a corporate wellness coordinator and personal trainer in Columbus, OH. Please email me for personal training rates at ffembrace@gmail.com. I'm excited to be working with you, God Bless! View all posts by jthealthyfit

4 responses to “Foolishness and Admirability

  • LexoKat

    Are you talking about like.. losing someone? As in losing a friend or a relationship? If yes, then I would do what I think, no matter what they think. I mean if I find it admirable, then I’ll do it. If they find it foolish, that’s their problem. Why would I care? It won’t be me who’ll regret ‘not doing anything’ later on, but them.

  • Jillian-Elle

    I have the type of personality where I try to avoid conflicts at all costs. So if I think I’m acting admirably, and there is resistance or conflict between the ‘backboard’ people around me and my actions, and they think it’s foolishness, I usually listen to their opinions and quite often adjust my actions accordingly; sometimes the line between foolishness and admirability is fine, and I trust those people to have my best interests at heart. That bring said, sometimes you just have to have faith in yourself that what you are doing, though not understood by everyone, is the best course of action to take. And that’s admirable!

    • jthealthyfit

      Yeah I completely agree with everything you said. As much as we want to do our own thing, we always need an outside perspective on things. I’m glad you commented. It’s was very helpful and encouraging. Thanks for commenting. Hope to hear more from you!

Leave a Reply

