Chicago’s Lakefront “Parkour” Trail

My buddy and I just got back from a run.  The trail of choice was Chicago’s Lakefront Trail.  Weather was windy, with Lake Michigan’s waves crashing against the rocks, throwing lake spray against our faces.

Even before our 3 mile journey began, we encountered an enormous, unjumpable puddle.  We had to cross it.  No other choice.

The puddle was at the end of a tunnel and there wasn’t any other way to cross the busy Chicago freeway besides through this tunnel.  And the only two options we had were 1) running through it, getting our shoes and ankles completely wet/ruined.  Or 2) monkey our way across the pipes along the tunnel wall.

Option 2 was our choice.  Lo and behold, my buddy was somewhat successful, only letting his feet get wet at the end.  So I took off my shoes, passed it over the ‘lake’ and began to journey my way over along the pipes.

Sliding one hand at a time, my hands crossed over pipe supports, just like a rock climber, trying to find his grip and foot holds.  The biggest challenge was at the end of the tunnel, where the piping turned.  So that meant, I had to drop down to the lowest pipe, all the while keeping my feet high enough so they didn’t get wet, as to the demise of my buddy’s ‘not so dry’ puddle journey.

I eventually made it across successfully.  Only to prematurely celebrate even though our run barely started.

We finally finished back at his apartment, only to reflect on our random, “parkour” moment.  The run wasn’t the highlight, but more so Ethan Hunt’s Mission Impossible stunt move.

Remember, when you have your mind set on a goal, don’t let anything get in the way!  Attempt any obstacle, even though you may slip and get wet!

About jthealthyfit

https://faithandfitnessembrace.wordpress.com/ I am passionate about health/wellness, nutrition, sports and most importantly, my relationship with God. I have a Bachelor of Science in Health and Sport Studies from Miami University and a Master of Science in Sports Administration from Valparaiso University. I am a corporate wellness coordinator and personal trainer in Columbus, OH. Please email me for personal training rates at ffembrace@gmail.com. I'm excited to be working with you, God Bless! View all posts by jthealthyfit

Leave a Reply

