Cast Away Feelings

Before I get into anything, I wrote an entire post, expecting it to be what I wanted to convey, but a more appropriate thought came along and instead, this is the post:

We all make mistakes.  We’ve all isolated ourselves on our own island of mistakes.  Whether we’ve hurt loved ones or made unforgivable mistakes, the thought of question and wonder about why we did it is inexplicable and unbearable.  The weight of guilt and anguish is too much for one to bear.  But just like Tom Hank’s character in the movie Cast Away, the only thing we can do is to keep breathing.

Even though we cannot move on together, I must always remember to breathe because tomorrow, “the sun will rise, and who knows what the tide will bring in.”

This is true.  As hard as this has been, logic says, life will continue.  Even though my plans didn’t work out and it didn’t end with a fairytale ending, life will continue.  God will provide.  

And as hard as it’s been, God will always appropriately and perfectly control the tide; who He brings into our lives.  We just have to patiently wait.

But we must always continue to breathe.

About jthealthyfit

https://faithandfitnessembrace.wordpress.com/ I am passionate about health/wellness, nutrition, sports and most importantly, my relationship with God. I have a Bachelor of Science in Health and Sport Studies from Miami University and a Master of Science in Sports Administration from Valparaiso University. I am a corporate wellness coordinator and personal trainer in Columbus, OH. Please email me for personal training rates at ffembrace@gmail.com. I'm excited to be working with you, God Bless! View all posts by jthealthyfit

6 responses to “Cast Away Feelings

  • LexoKat

    We must wait patiently.. and you must know very well how hard that is!

  • LexoKat

    PS. I kinda replied to the email but I lost it around.. :/

  • Mel

    I don’t know what you’re walking through but I hope you know that, the truth is, you are not your mistakes. There is no condemnation (no guilt, no blame, no shame) for those who are in Christ. His grace is sufficient for you.

    Keep breathing God in. Open His Word and fill your mind with who He is. Take your eyes off your own circumstances and fix them upon Jesus. Know that He is even closer to you than the very air you breathe; even closer than your soul. He is all around you. He will go before you. He is holding you up and He will carry you in. He is all you need. Whatever you are facing in this season, no matter how disappointing or painful, only let it chase you deeper into the arms of Christ. He is the one who walks with you through fire- you won’t be touched.

    Thanks for being vulnerable and for sharing, yet again, another fantastic post!! Very well written. 🙂 Plus, I love this movie except it makes me cry…a lot…haha!!

    God bless you!!!

    • jthealthyfit

      I really appreciate your kind and strong words. It definitely has been tough. But I always need to reassure myself God will provide. He’s in control. And what has happened, is for the better. Just like my parents have told me, it’s a blessing in disguise because I knew I had to make things right with the Lord before anything else can happen. I knew I had to give myself to Him so I can truly seek out His calling for me. I was falling away from Him. My sinful past, whether it was relational or not, I knew it wasn’t the life He wanted me to be living. With my eyes open, I can truly see why things happen. Why we must lose to gain. You’re completely right. We aren’t our mistakes. We cannot be defined by our regrets. And God is the almighty raft to carry us away from our island of mistakes. And you’re completely right. I’ll be honest, taking my eyes off of the circumstances is very hard. But I know to continue and move forward, I must have complete faith in Him and know He will never disappoint! And yes, I love this movie as well.

      God truly gives people the wisdom and encouragement to help others, that’s evident in your replies and posts. You are a model everyone needs to emulate in Christ Jesus!

      Hope to hear more from you and thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

