Do It Like The Amish!

When I was traveling back to school today, I took a detour through Amish country.  And all the while I was traveling through, I thought about their culture.  Could you imagine not having the conveniences of modern technology?  Could you imagine denying such changes?  Could you imagine riding in a horse and buggy everywhere you go?

This Christian culture doesn’t know any different.  Yes, we couldn’t imagine living in such a lifestyle, but could they imagine living like we do today?

They’ve accepted their roles in family structures.  Compliance of rules and regulations of each region or family is very important.  Integrity and respect comes with their family name.  Could you imagine living a week or two in their shoes?  Life would be simpler.

Yes, it may be more laborious and tiresome, but physical exhaustion can be overcome.  No computers, no televisions.  No distractions.  Sometimes in our lives, I honestly think we should just eliminate things from our lives or “unplug” to realize how good we have it.

The ease of our luxuries are distracting us what’s truly important.  Our relationships with God, family, and friends.  Life is complicated.  And technology, including email, texting, and so on aren’t making things easier, it’s just complicating our lives even more.  Everything we do, everything we say may be taken in the wrong context that may be read differently in person.  We’ve lost sight of the importance of the personal, intimate, physical relationships we have with people.  Yes, I understand, “well I have to rely on technology to do my school work, stay in contact with people; I just can’t go a day without my computer or phone.”  I realize this.

Instead of texting a friend, why don’t you go visit them in person.  I truly think if we get back to the Amish way of thinking of honoring and respecting God and the family structure, we can help solve a lot of problems we have as a country.

About jthealthyfit

https://faithandfitnessembrace.wordpress.com/ I am passionate about health/wellness, nutrition, sports and most importantly, my relationship with God. I have a Bachelor of Science in Health and Sport Studies from Miami University and a Master of Science in Sports Administration from Valparaiso University. I am a corporate wellness coordinator and personal trainer in Columbus, OH. Please email me for personal training rates at ffembrace@gmail.com. I'm excited to be working with you, God Bless! View all posts by jthealthyfit

5 responses to “Do It Like The Amish!

  • LexoKat

    Amazing. I want to see! 😦

  • Mel

    You’re right, the Amish have definitely nailed living set apart lives. However, I would challenge you to examine their culture to Gospel. What if the Amish are just as lost from the mercy, forgiveness, grace and freedom of Christ as unbelievers? I live in/around a lot of Amish and my heart breaks for their youth, their families. There is so much fear and control. I am not criticizing them, just, well, trying to discern…Jesus never shunned anyone, ya know? Thank you for your insight- it is, indeed, spot on. Another very well written post. 🙂

    • jthealthyfit

      Oh no, I completely agree with you. That’s a different perspective I haven’t thought about. But you’re right! There is fear of change, control, and many other things. And yes, you’d think they would be a little more accepting of things, if they want to be more Christ like, but they aren’t just as you said. It’s an intriguing culture. All the while, getting away from technology and the complexities of our society is something I’m envious of. I’d like to live with an Amish family for a month or something, just to see how it is! Sort of like a For Richer or Poorer movie scenario.

      • Mel

        “But then how would you blog?”

        Yes, that was the first thought that popped in my head at the thought of living with the Amish. And then, “Hey, maybe you’ll be the first missionary to the Amish!”

        Jk…you make a great point. Praise God that the church can be edified even through, well, the wordpress. God bless you!!! 🙂

      • jthealthyfit

        Haha. Good point! Maybe I’ll sneak my new iPhone onto the farm and use it secretly at night to blog. Glad you’re going through my blog posts, it’s really encouraging to have some feedback and appreciation!

        You get what I’m trying to convey!

Leave a Reply

