Could You Do More?!

Today was the infamous day.  Today has been on my calendar since the beginning of the year.  Today was what it all came down to.

Yesterday, I didn’t think we were ready.  Yesterday, we still had things to figure out.  Yesterday was stressful.

I just got done with a charity golf outing in which my sports marketing class hosts every year.  It’s up to the class to essentially put it on.  If the class doesn’t do it, then it doesn’t happen.  So it’s a big deal.  This year, we chose the Wounded Warrior Project.  And we chose this appropriately because a fellow undergrad lost his life in Afghanistan this past January, proudly serving our country.

Of course, we invited his parents to partake in the day’s activities.  It was pretty great.  We essentially blew his name up on everything we did, simply to celebrate his life, including a fund in his name, which will be donated to the Wounded Warrior Project.  They were beyond grateful and happy we did everything in his name.

Back in January, when we were notified of this project, no urgency was placed on today.  No urgency whatsoever to get sponsors, do marketing, or obtain golfers.  So it wasn’t about the 2 month mark til the tourney a few people started to kick it in gear, including myself.

I was the chair of the sponsorship committee, responsible for raising money for this event.  And I can surely tell you, it was stressful and hard!  But, if you know me by now, I wasn’t going to let any obstacles get in the way.  Even though this was just a “school project,” I didn’t see this as project.  I didn’t see this as a grade.  I saw this event as a succes or failure.  Because I know, when I look back, I don’t want to say, “man, I could have done more.”  I’ve always been my biggest critic, so having my name associated with such a failure would be very degrading to my character.  So I knew, at all costs, I HAD to raise as much money as possible, even if that means I’m one of the few doing it.

And that’s what it basically came down to.  I felt part of the working minority, always thinking, always working towards this day.

I’m not judging or degrading anyone, but this golf tournament has really taught me a lot about people.

For one, I expect a lot out of people.  And I’ll be honest, I ask a lot out of people, from that simple fact.  The effort I put in, I should expect the same back, or even more.  But that’s not reality.  That’s not something I should think or even expect.  I’m not trying to play myself up or anything, but there’s always going to be people out there that just don’t care or do sub par work.  The important thing is, don’t get stressed, upset, or disappointed.  It took a while to realize this.  Empathizing and imagining is critical to this.  We all live our own separate, busy lives.  When one can free up their time to do something, to someone else, this may be impossible; that’s just life.  I’ve compared this to fitness training.  I honestly expect the most out of clients.  When they’re training with me, I expect their complete attention and effort.  I want them to be pushing it as hard as they can.  Why?  Because people’s true character really comes out when they’re exhausted and tired.  It shows that you can always go farther and farther when you’re held in a higher standard of excellence.  Plus, I’m the one to motivate and encourage others to break through their own barriers.  I WANT people to succeed.  The road may be tough and stressful, but anything that’s worth the wait and hard work, is worth it!

Anyway, the tournament had no issues at all!  We raised over $6500, not including the $1200 silent auction fund, plus a few other monetary amounts still to come.  Blowing out the previous years’ records is very rewarding.  We’re actually the only class who’s raised this much money in all the years it’s been in existence.  And to see his parents there, during the National Anthem sung by his acapella group with the National Guard color guard standing in honor was a powerful sight.

Was it all worth it???  Yes it was!!

So whenever you think your hard work won’t pay off (I thought the hundreds of cold calls and businesses I visited had no chance of working), trust me, it will!  You have to stay determined, stay focused, and never forget your work ethic.  Even in the eyes of naysayers, never give up.  Find something you’re passionate about and do it to the best of your ability.

Because at the end of the day, you don’t want to say to yourself, “man, I could have done more.”

About jthealthyfit

https://faithandfitnessembrace.wordpress.com/ I am passionate about health/wellness, nutrition, sports and most importantly, my relationship with God. I have a Bachelor of Science in Health and Sport Studies from Miami University and a Master of Science in Sports Administration from Valparaiso University. I am a corporate wellness coordinator and personal trainer in Columbus, OH. Please email me for personal training rates at ffembrace@gmail.com. I'm excited to be working with you, God Bless! View all posts by jthealthyfit

2 responses to “Could You Do More?!

Leave a Reply

