50/50

Earlier today, I watched a movie with friends called 50/50.  If you haven’t had the chance, it’s a very good movie involving a young man with a rare form of cancer at a young age of 27.  While I was watching, I couldn’t help but think about what would happen to my life if something like that would happen?  How would I handle such a life-changing illness?

All could change in a blink of an eye.  All could change from one day to the next.  Who’s to say we’re guaranteed tomorrow, next week, month, or year?  It’s a simple answer; we’re not guaranteed anything!  Especially at a young age, we have felt or have been in the position of being “invincible.”  Nothing can harm us.  We can walk the fine line with no repercussions.  But is this perspective healthy?  Is it even possible to live our lives to the fullest each day, as if tomorrow may be our last?

Whether it’d be cancer or an accident, our lives are precious.  Serve God to your fullest.  Seek comfort in the Lord.  If you’re already suffering pain, pray and ask God you may find comfort in serving Him.  “The Lord is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer, my God, my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.”-Psalm 18:2

Whatever the suffering you may be going through, you don’t have to be alone.  Even if you may feel like you are, you aren’t!  You’re never in a fight alone.  Even if it may seem unsurmountable or impossible.  Even if the odds aren’t good, there’s a 100/100 chance God will come through and give you peace.

About jthealthyfit

https://faithandfitnessembrace.wordpress.com/ I am passionate about health/wellness, nutrition, sports and most importantly, my relationship with God. I have a Bachelor of Science in Health and Sport Studies from Miami University and a Master of Science in Sports Administration from Valparaiso University. I am a corporate wellness coordinator and personal trainer in Columbus, OH. Please email me for personal training rates at ffembrace@gmail.com. I'm excited to be working with you, God Bless! View all posts by jthealthyfit

7 responses to “50/50

  • LexoKat

    Felt like this when I had my strong back pains and I went to the doctor to find out some quite bad news. I felt like I wasn’t treated fairly and I was literally breaking down and crying every 10-15 minutes. But I kept reminding myself that there are people who go through things which are worse than what I went through.

    You’re right. You never know when everything you’ve been working for, just goes away.. gets destroyed. (not only working, but you got my point!)

    • jthealthyfit

      Aw. Yeah I can imagine that was very tough for you! And that’s a great way to combat pain and the bad experience. Sometimes comparing ourselves to others isn’t good, but in a situation like yours, it’s very beneficial because just like you said, it doesn’t matter how hard one has it, there’s always someone who’s worse off and we should be thankful for the life God has given us.

Leave a Reply

