Summer 2012: Are You 27 Cents Worth? Part I

Before I begin writing, I must tell you, this is a multi-part series, with a continuation of the story each day; so your patience and devotion is greatly appreciated.

I knew this day was going to come.  This is the day I HAD to force myself to open a Word document to transcribe all the experiences of the summer.  To overcome a funk, a hardship, a grievance, I must not loaf or overwhelm myself with worry and discontentment because the journey God has taken me on during the summer of 2012, I should be cascading with gratitude, benediction, and benevolence.

Rightfully so and having told the innumerous unforeseen stories, nothing but acclamation of His invocation in my life is the reverted focal point of this post.  In other words, before getting into the trials, tribulations, successes, and satisfying moments of the summer, all things have been possible through the open doors God has provided for me.  My journey wouldn’t have been possible without God being the ultimate tour guide, taking me down Spiritual roads and dark alleyways, to test my courage and faith.  In a state of reflection and bewilderment, a challenging test He provided is an understatement, beyond familiarity and relaxation of my comfortable life.

For those who don’t know, I am in grad school and part of my schooling, I have to hold an internship, relevant to my degree.  Back in March, when I was looking for internship opportunities, I quickly realized they were few and far between, even being in the close proximity of Chicago’s large opportunistic shadows.  After hours of Internet browsing, I found a seemingly irrelevant position at the Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago’s Adaptive Sports and Recreation Program.  Not knowing what “adaptive” meant, I passed on the opportunity because it didn’t fit my mold or what I was looking for, placing the insignificant employment application on my desk to quickly get lost beneath the slew of graduate papers.

As time went on, pressure of getting an internship in either the summer or fall built, tightly squeezing my window of early graduation into a tiny speck of absurdity.  Uncertainty and apprehension began to set in, only to be turned back to the seemingly lost application I once had on my desk.  Expecting my graduate papers or desk to grow brains of competency and capacity to eat unwanted parchment, after extensive sifting of paper-cutting material, I found the application to the Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago’s Adaptive Sports and Recreation Internship.  Quickly finding myself in bewilderment, the due date for summer interns was less than a week away.  Dumbfounded at the accidental “just in time” happening, I filled out and mailed with a day to spare.

Rapidly removed from the haphazard pre-internship application process, I dismissed it as unimportant.  A few weeks later, a conspicuous phone call, from an unknown number provided me with an interview opportunity for the obviously paltry Chicago internship.

First Intermission: This post isn’t like any other you’ll read.  The dreadful, poorly written, “quick-to-post” blog posts are superficial, without substance, skimming the surface, only to grab attention through common, web-approved pictures and topics.  What happened to critically thinking as you read?  What happened to a Holy Spirit centered lifestyle where it’s impossible not to be redirected back to His presence?  Why not use the Internet as a Spiritual tool, instead of just a life-sucking, life-wasting distraction?  Take your time; think through the words as you read the rest of this.  At this point in my life, the tugging and pulling moments are what I’m going to whimsically title the “C.S. Lewis Chapter” in my life.  Why?  If you do a simple Google search or read a biography on C.S. Lewis, he refuted a higher being.  He investigated life on his own.  He scrutinized the Bible.  And every time, to his astonishment, all fingers pointed back to Jesus Christ.  All of his experiences pulled him back to the Holy Spirit moving and evolving in his life.  So for the rest of your intermission, aka till tomorrow, go grab a coffee, iced tea, or simply a cup of water, sit back, and enjoy the rest.

Second part of the series is tomorrow, so come armed with your caffeinated beverages,  thanks!

About jthealthyfit

https://faithandfitnessembrace.wordpress.com/ I am passionate about health/wellness, nutrition, sports and most importantly, my relationship with God. I have a Bachelor of Science in Health and Sport Studies from Miami University and a Master of Science in Sports Administration from Valparaiso University. I am a corporate wellness coordinator and personal trainer in Columbus, OH. Please email me for personal training rates at ffembrace@gmail.com. I'm excited to be working with you, God Bless! View all posts by jthealthyfit

Leave a Reply

