Summer 2012: Are You 27 Cents Worth? Part II

After I got the interview, ecstasy overcame me.  As quickly as the emotional suddenness resonated, a pragmatic thought interrupted the happiness; the thought of the unknown, doubt, and affliction was rendering me helpless.  Where am I going to stay?  Do I have the money to rent a Chicago apartment for three months, on top of my apartment now?  Will I have to commute?  HOW AM I GOING TO DO THIS?!  Using scrap paper, sticky notes, and dry erase boards for scratch notes to project operational and capital budgets for the summer, it didn’t take long to realize how expensive this unpaid internship would cost.  Having the reputation and presence the Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago has in the Midwest, I couldn’t pass up the opportunity, right?!  All the while up until the interview, I prayed about the ‘tug of war’ I was having with myself.  And I’ll convict myself.  I didn’t wait long enough for Him to respond, to say, “it’s ok to take this; this is my plan for you.”  I didn’t let His beautiful voice overcome the restlessness I was experiencing. 

To my astonishment, the interview went well and after the interviewer walked with me to my car, he gave a proposition, “it’s yours if you can figure out your residence.”  So it was mine to lose.  No pressure at all.  Now what?  More worrying?  More trying to figure things out.  Telling him I needed more time to think about it and figure things out, I continued to pray and ask for His guidance and direction.   Once again, in my infinite, unmistakably, flawless demeanor, I accepted the position two days later.  And at this moment in the story, I had no place, no residence to stay.  As time went on, a buddy from grad school was living in Chicago, Lake View, to be precise.  Luckily, he accepted me to stay with him and his girlfriend for the summer.  But there was a catch.  Because their lease was up at the end of June, I HAD to find a place for the rest of the summer.  (Note: the internship was from the end of May to the end of August)

Finally, I had almost everything figured out.  Don’t you love how God opens and closes doors?  Well, if you don’t know what I mean, recollect on your life.  Think back on the times you could have traveled one way, and something came up to deter you.  “I know your works.  See, I have set before you an open door, and no one can shut it; for you have a little strength, have kept My word, and have no denied My name.”-Revelation 3:8 (NLT) These random detour moments are God’s work, they’re Him trying to tell you, “I have something better.”  Remember God’s three answers to your prayers: 1) yes 2) not yet 3) I have something better in mind.  Be patient.  Pray.  He will guide you in the right direction, even if you don’t have a plan or have any clue what’s in store.

Second Intermission: What are you thinking so far?  Take a break.  Reflect on the message.  Through my journey up until this point, do you see any parallels in your life?  Have you recognized the “fork in the road” moments, where you have two different paths to take and realize, you have taken the right or even wrong one?  What did you heart tell you in that circumstance?  What is your heart telling you right now?  If you didn’t get a coffee, iced tea, or water at the first intermission, please go get something now, we’re going to be here for a while!

About jthealthyfit

https://faithandfitnessembrace.wordpress.com/ I am passionate about health/wellness, nutrition, sports and most importantly, my relationship with God. I have a Bachelor of Science in Health and Sport Studies from Miami University and a Master of Science in Sports Administration from Valparaiso University. I am a corporate wellness coordinator and personal trainer in Columbus, OH. Please email me for personal training rates at ffembrace@gmail.com. I'm excited to be working with you, God Bless! View all posts by jthealthyfit

One response to “Summer 2012: Are You 27 Cents Worth? Part II

Leave a Reply

