Summer 2012: Are You 27 Cents Worth? Part VI

Of the two weeks I had off the entire summer, I went into the city for the day to sightsee, to go on a beautiful architecture boat tour down the Chicago River.  On my way back from the city, I wanted to stop by the market near the house to get some fresh produce, since they had the cheapest blueberries I have ever found!  Anyway, after getting my items and was ready to check out, I got into a short line, with an old lady checking out.  Noticing her fumbling around for change, she unexpectedly comes up short and admits she doesn’t have enough, frantically taking items out of the grocery bags to compensate the price deduction.

At this moment in the story, I have to note a particular important facet of my position.  Since I went into the city for the day, this was the only time during the summer I physically took money out of the bank, so that I had cash for the boat tour and a little spending money afterwards.  As a result, I ended up breaking some bills and had change in my wallet as well.  Remember, this was the only time I literally had cash on me; I’m more of a “nothing but plastic carrier.”  A little foreshadowing.

So the old lady in front of me at the grocery was short 27 cents.  And I didn’t even think twice about it at the time.  I quickly pulled out my wallet and gave the cashier the 27 cents.  The old lady tried to obstruct my kindness and luckily, she ended up giving in to the simplistic generosity.  The first words out of her kind, soft voice was “what’s your name, I’m going to say a prayer for you!”  This hit me like a ton of bricks; it floored me.  I don’t know why these words made such an impact, but the simple gesture of giving 27 cents elicited such joy and thankfulness in this Christian woman.

We ended up introducing each other after I checked out.  And even before I went to shake her hand, her unbelievable humbleness, blessing, and gratefulness commented, “there aren’t that many gentlemen out there, you’re mom will be proud, God Bless you!”  It wasn’t about the money.  It’s not about bragging.  It was about her response.  “What’s your name, I’m going to say a prayer for you…”  These simple words of “I’m going to pray for you…” had unimaginative Spiritual power, especially coming from a believer; an old lady who probably spends the majority of her days in prayer for her children, grandchildren, and great-grandchildren.

I cannot fully put into words as to the impact this old woman had on my summer, even as simplistic the scene.  Stepping out of our comfort zones just for a temporary period to give to a complete stranger is more rewarding than any recently purchased item you think you needed.  The superficial contentment felt after purchasing something that’ll collect dust is fruitless, but the bountiful joy I felt after her reaction to my subtle gesture was prolific.  Just like that, my life was changed because of 27 cents.  “Each one must give as he has decided in his heart, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver.”-2 Corinthians 9:7.  Next time you find yourself in a similar circumstance, step out; nay reach out to help someone because you never know how your life will be impacted.

My prolonged summer was eventually coming to a close, with three major events taking place back to back to back, all in a successive manner, I was beyond tired and running on my last legs of an eventful, inspired summer.  As the summer was closing, my last interaction was with a Jewish girl.  As subtle as it was, her family stories and history of being persecuted because of their Faith was another random, yet wonderful insight of His wonder.  I cannot reiterate the breathtaking moments I had throughout the summer that just shattered my expectations and how many times He showed me He was there.  In all the times it was hard, in every step of unfamiliarity, every prayer, every hurt, in the moments my world seemed to be falling down, He never forsake me.  He never left me.

Remember, when you’re traveling through uncharted territories, turbulent waters, stick to His word.  Because as far as you think you are from Him, He’s always right by your side.  Even if you may find yourself busy and nearly incapable for providing time for Him, give Him your fears, stresses, and doubts.  “Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.”-Romans 12:2.  He will provide.  He will open the doors.  And most importantly, He will incredibly exceed your expectations if you put Him first.  “But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.”-Matthew 6:33.

So my question to you is, “Are You 27 Cents Worth?”

Can you do one “Random Act of Kindness (acronym known as a RAK) for a fellow human today?  When you do, please let me know how it goes because we’re going to celebrate Jesus Christ through serving and helping others, one gesture, one RAK, one 27-cent moment at a time!

Thanks for reading!

About jthealthyfit

https://faithandfitnessembrace.wordpress.com/ I am passionate about health/wellness, nutrition, sports and most importantly, my relationship with God. I have a Bachelor of Science in Health and Sport Studies from Miami University and a Master of Science in Sports Administration from Valparaiso University. I am a corporate wellness coordinator and personal trainer in Columbus, OH. Please email me for personal training rates at ffembrace@gmail.com. I'm excited to be working with you, God Bless! View all posts by jthealthyfit

2 responses to “Summer 2012: Are You 27 Cents Worth? Part VI

Leave a Reply

